

2014 TRANS TASMAN TEAMS CHALLENGE OTU DEVONPORT OCEANIA TRIATHLON CHAMPIONSHIPS, DEVONPORT, TASMANIA Saturday 1st March 2014

Event Information:

The 2014 OTU Devonport Oceania Triathlon Championships is the annual Trans Tasman Teams Challenge. The event will is conducted as a standard ITU Junior Sprint Distance Race, however, each State/NTA region and New Zealand will nominate athletes to make up their "National/State Team" and a team point score will be conducted to determine champion Trans Tasman male and female teams.

Teams will consist of:

- Four (4) athletes for the male race
- three (3) athletes for the female race

Each state and NZL may enter more than one team, but <u>must nominate the members of their team by</u> <u>the race briefing the day before the event</u> (Friday 28 February).

Additional State Teams will be named "A", "B", "C" etc.

<u>Points</u> will be allocated as per an athlete's placing – so 1 point for first place, 2 points for second, etc. The team with the *lowest score* will win the Trans Tasman Team Trophy. In the case that two teams tie in points, the winner will be the team with the highest individual placing.

Athletes will still race individually to win the OTU Oceania Junior Championships, but will also contribute to their nominated team's points. Athletes whose state/NTA region does not have the numbers to field a full team, may still race. We will do our best to make sure every athlete is in a team – composite teams will be formed with athletes not in their State team.

This is a very popular part of the SCODY Australian Junior Triathlon Series, with great team spirit and an individual emphasis!

Perpetual trophies will be awarded to the winning teams.

ANNUAL TRANS-TASMAN TRIATHLON CHALLENGE (AUS vs NZL) HONOUR ROLL						
YEAR	JNR MEN TEAM	ATHLETES	JNR WOMEN TEAM	ATHLETES	VENUE	
2013	VIC/TAS	Jacob Birtwhistle Joel Tobin-White Ben Anderson Nick McGuire	New Zealand	Mikayla Nielsen Nicole Van Der Kaay Elise Salt	Wellington, NZL	
2012	Victoria	Marcel Walkington Joel Tobin-White Ben Anderson Sascha Bondarenko	New Zealand	Mikayla Nielsen Maddie Dillon Elise Salt	Devonport, TAS	
2011	Queensland	Matt Brown Brayden Tucker Luke Farrell Ryan Mouritz	New Zealand	Mikayla Nielsen Maddie Dillon Laura Wood	Wellington, NZL	
2010	New Zealand	Edward Rawles Sam Osbourne Aaron Barclay Mike Phillips	New Zealand	Penny Hayes Maddy Brunton Maddie Dillon	Wellington, NZL	
2009	NSW	Aaron Royle Sam Appleton Elliot Brown Jack Hickey	Victoria	Holly Aitken Erin Gangelhoff Jaimi Chisholm	Gold Coast, QLD	
2008	NSW	Joseph Lampe Aaron Royle Michael Murphy David Mainwaring	Victoria	Holly Aitken Meg Russell Erin Gangelhoff	Kinloch, NZL	
2007	Queensland	Josh Maeder Josh Amberger Sam Betten Adam Carlton	Queensland	Courtney Dutton Ashleigh Gentle Emma Jackson	Hobart, TAS	
2006	New Zealand	Tony Dodds Ross Smith Matt Burgess James Bowstead	Queensland	Kirsten Watt Jessica Large Skye Nicholas	Gold Coast, QLD	
2005	NSW	Ben Yates Jacob Hunter Brett Lee Adrian Comminotto	NSW	Brittany Orr Melanie Sexton Rebecca Moxey	Coffs Harbour, NSW	
2004	NSW	Brendan Sexton Joel Cook Brett Lee Adrian Comminotto	NSW	Brittany Orr Melanie Sexton Erin Densham	Canberra, ACT	



2014 TRANS TASMAN TEAMS CHALLENGE OTU DEVONPORT OCEANIA TRIATHLON CHAMPIONSHIPS, **DEVONPORT, TASMANIA**

Saturday 1st March 2014

TEAM NOMINATION FORM

(ONE TEAM PER FORM)

STATE/NATIONAL TEAM:	
MALE/FEMALE:	-
TEAM MANAGER:	
ATHLETES:	
2	
3	
4.	

Return to Craig Redman by the end of the Race Briefing on Friday 28 February, or any time prior. Email: craig.redman@triathlon.org.au